It has been nearly six years since Alison Krauss released her last album, 2011's Paper Airplane with Union Station, but that's about to change with the release of a new album of covers in 2017.

The singer returns on Feb. 17 with Windy City, an album of 10 classics that span multiple genres and decades. It also marks the first project she has done without the group in a decade. The singer worked with producer Buddy Cannon on the new project.

Krauss said she instantly knew Cannon had to be her producer, explaining in a four-minute trailer that she "didn't have a choice." Cannon, meanwhile, remembers things differently.

See All Albums Set for Release in 2017

"She just started showing up at my office," he recalls. "I thought, 'Well this is cool, but it's unusual.' One day she called me up and said, 'I want to make a country record. Would you help me do it?' I said, 'Hell, yeah!'"

Admiring the way longtime producer Cannon has pushed her as an artist over the years, Krauss said that she "had to see if he'd make a country record with me because it's the same insistence that a song has on me."

The 10 songs included on Windy City have been recorded over the years by artists like Brenda Lee with "Losing You," Willie Nelson on "I Never Cared for You" and Glen Campbell's "Gentle on My Mind," among others. See the complete track listing below.

Alison Krauss, Windy City Track Listing

1. "Losing You"
2. "It’s Goodbye and So Long to You"
3. "Windy City"
4. "I Never Cared for You"
5. "River in the Rain"
6. "Dream of Me"
7. "Gentle on My Mind"
8. "All Alone Am I"
9. "Poison Love"
10. "You Don’t Know Me"

Most Anticipated Albums of 2017

More From 92.9 The Bull