Brad Paisley and Toby Keith head up the nominees for the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Class of 2018.

The Nashville Tennessean reports that Paisley and Keith are nominated in the category of songwriter/artist, along with Ronnie Dunn and Eddy Raven. All four artists have consistently written or co-written their own songs across their careers.

Eight more nominees have been announced in the category of songwriter, including Skip Ewing, who's written hits for Clint Black and Kenny Chesney, among others; Byron Hill, whose credits include George Strait's "Fool Hearted Memory" and Alabama's "Born Country;" Ed Hill, who has scored hits with Reba McEntire, Trisha Yearwood and more; Wayne Kirkpatrick, whose writing credits extend outside of country music and onto Broadway; Kerry Kurt Phillips, who's written classics for George Jones and Joe Diffie; Bob Regan, whose songs have been cut by Keith Urban, Randy Travis and more; Jim Rushing, who's responsible for Garth Brooks' "American Honky-Tonk Bar Association," among others; and Steve Seskin, whose contributions to the country canon include Tim McGraw's "Grown Men Don't Cry."

According to its website, the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame "is a non-profit organization dedicated to honoring and preserving the songwriting legacy that is uniquely associated with the Nashville music community. Its purpose is to educate, celebrate and archive the achievements and contributions made by members of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame to the world."

The NSHOF will announce the inductees to its Class of 2018 in August, and they will be formally inducted at a ceremony later in the fall. The Class of 2017 included Walt Aldridge, Tim Nichols, Jim McBride and Vern Gosdin.

Watch Lindsay Ell's Incredible One-Woman Performance for RISERS!

The Best Guitarists in Country Music

More From 92.9 The Bull