Sammy Kershaw is returning to his Louisiana roots: In May, the country singer will release The Blues Got Me, a blues album that he's been hinting about recording for years.

The Blues Got Me will feature Kershaw covering classic hits such as Chuck Berry’s “No Money Down” and the Allman Brothers’ “It’s Not My Cross to Bear.” The record will also include seven original tracks written (or co-written) by Kershaw, including “I’m Your Huckleberry” and “I’m Going Crazy.” A complete track listing is below.

"This album has been in the works for a long time, and I thank God for giving me the opportunity to be able to record it and bring it to you," Kershaw says in a press release, calling The Blues Got Me "just a fun project" and "something a little different." He adds, "Lotta Cajun, swamp-pop music and maybe a little bit of zydeco influenced into this type of blues."

The Blues Got Me is the followup to Kershaw’s 2015 country release, I Won’t Back Down. That project was the artist's first collection of all-new songs in five years; however, in 2014, he released a tribute to George JonesDo You Know Me?

“At all of our shows, or wherever [we] go, people keep asking for new music,” Kershaw said last year. “I’m glad to have [new music] coming their way. They’ve waited a while. Hell, I’ve waited a while.”

The Blues Got Me will be released on May 13. It is currently available for pre-order at Amazon.

Sammy Kershaw, The Blues Got Me Track Listing:

1. "The Blues Got Me"
2. "That Train"
3. "Ain't My Cross to Bear"
4. "Where'd the Money Go"
5. "Big Legged Woman"
6. "I'm Gone"
7. "No Money Down"
8. "I'm Your Huckleberry"
9. "I'm Going Crazy"
10. "Hot Night in Kaplan"
11. "No Money Blues"

More of 2016's New Country Music

More From 92.9 The Bull