Hey Yakima, What Is Your Love Language?

Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash
I have been doing some therapy lately and one of the things I have been challenged to find out is my "love language." There was this book written in 1992 called "The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate" by Gary Chapman, and in his book, he detailed how each one of us flourishes in our relationships when our partner or family members "speak" to us in our primary love language.


5 Love Languages Book by Gary Chapman

The five love languages are:

  1. Quality Time
  2. Touch
  3. Words of Affirmation
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Gifts

I took the quiz and found out that my primary love language is "Quality Time", which means that I value spending one-on-one time with my partner, friend, or family member over all the other languages. I hate it when I am talking with someone and they seem bored, distracted, or otherwise not paying me any attention when I am trying to communicate with them. I feel unseen, unwanted, and not cared for when this happens. So the last thing I want in a relationship is someone who tells me they have "lost interest". That is the death knell to my heart.

I had my 10-year-old daughter, Willow, take the quiz, too. Her primary love language is "Words of Affirmation", which means that she shines bright like a diamond when she receives praise, loving words of encouragement, and is reminded that she (like all precious children) is special, adored, and unique.

Loving Family
Photo by Surface on Unsplash

Find out what your love language is by taking this quiz here at 5LoveLanguages.com. It should take you about five to seven minutes but it's SO WORTH IT!

See if you or your child have one of the most popular baby names from every state

More From 92.9 The Bull