After presentations on Thursday by 13 people hoping to fill the district two seat vacated by the resignation of Sara Bristol, the Yakima City Council chose six people to move forward in the next step of the process.

Those chosen to continue on were Patricia Byers, Thomas Dittmar, Mark Johnson, Maria Giedra, Michael Liddicoat, and Dan Polage.

Applications to fill the vacancy were also submitted by Michael Hayes, Lyle Kang, Alphonso Lee, Richard Marcley, James McClean, and Tony Sloan.

The council will conduct final interviews with the finalists starting at 9:30 a.m. Friday at Yakima City Hall. The final appointee is expected to sworn in at the council's Jan. 21 regular business meeting.

View the city's complete press release here.