I don't how I missed this story last year, but it looks like there is a new Zodiac, sign according to NASA.

I've always been a Gemini but now with the addition of a new sign, I'm a Taurus!?

I'm not sure I agree with the new sign but here is why your sign might not be your sign any longer...

NASA is reporting that because of the constellations of the stars, there are actually 13 signs of the Zodiac and not 12.

NASA explains:

“The constellations are different sizes and shapes, so the sun spends different lengths of time lined up with each one. The line from Earth through the sun points to Virgo for 45 days, but it points to Scorpius for only 7 days.  To make a tidy match with their 12-month calendar, the Babylonians ignored the fact that the sun actually moves through 13 constellations, not 12. Then they assigned each of those 12 constellations equal amounts of time.”

Back Stabbing
Getty Images

The 13th sign is Ophiuchus, and it's not a new discovery. It has long been used in sidereal and vedic astrology, but is not commonly practiced in the United States.

The ancient Babylonians even knew we had 13 constellations but they decided to ignore the 13th.

NASA has come along and restored the original constellations and signs in the Zodiac.

Here are your new signs and dates:

  • Capricorn: Jan. 20 - Feb. 16.
  • Aquarius: Feb. 16 - March 11.
  • Pisces: March 11 - April 18.
  • Aries: April 18 - May 13.
  • Taurus: May 13 - June 21.
  • Gemini: June 21 - July 20.
  • Cancer: July 20 - Aug. 10.
  • Leo: Aug. 10 - Sept. 16.
  • Virgo: Sept. 16 - Oct. 30.
  • Libra: Oct. 30 - Nov. 23.
  • Scorpio: Nov. 23 - 29.
  • Ophiuchus: Nov. 29 - Dec. 17.
  • Sagittarius: Dec. 17 - Jan. 20.

I'm not sure I want to be a Taurus but luckily if you follow the Tropical Zodiac, it remains as it was.


More From 92.9 The Bull